Hospitality, Tourism, and Recreation

Read more about the Hospitality, Tourism, and Recreation Model Curriculum Standards here.

2016 Entree to Employment Dinner, featuring the Hospitality sector was a success! Employers were inspired by the students:

“Coming to this event will reignite the joy of learning as an adult.”

Hospitality Pathway. McGrath Family Farm Pic

Ventura High School Culinary Students on a field trip to McGrath Family Farm to learn about the “Farm to Table” movement with owner Phil McGrath.

VCLA Loding Assn

Thanks to our partnership with Ventura County Lodging Association (VCLA), Culinary Arts and Hospitality Pathway students have been participating at local hotels and restaurants as interns, taking field trips, and learning first-hand what it takes to begin a career in these industries.
Read more about our partnership on Ventura County West here.

Hospitality EE

Executive Chef Jesse Hansen, Four Seasons Hotel Westlake Village, at the Entree to Employment Dinner with Oxnard College Culinary students.

Four Seasons_Royal HS Students

Four Seasons Executive Chef Jesse Hansen cooking with Royal High School students.

Reg. 9 FHA HERO officer team preside over reg. Mtg. NPHS member, Kienna Herron, second from left, is secretary

Newbury Park High School student and FHA HERO: The California Affiliate of FCCLA (Family, Careers and Community Leaders of America), Region 9 secretary Kienna Herron presided over their regional meeting earlier this year, along with her fellow officers. The student-run organization FHA-HERO – Building Strong Leaders for Families, Communities, and Careers has been helping young people become leaders for more than 60 years. The organization encourages career and leadership development, community involvement, and member recognition, as well as family concerns and managing work and family life.

Disneyland Hospitality Culinary fieldtrip

Hospitality/Culinary students from Ventura and Newbury Park High Schools visited Disneyland’s Culinary Youth Series Program. The students took a behind-the-scenes tour of Disneyland Resort food and beverage operations. They learned how Disney meets and exceeds the demand for the high volume quality meals they serve to millions of people.

Screenshot 2016-06-27 17.21.41

Read full article here.

JPL-2

Ventura County high school students visited the @Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) during Spring 2016. In addition to hearing about the paid summer internship opportunities, they also received a full tour of JPL where they learned about some of the careers that exist in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields.

The Hospitality, Tourism, and Recreation sector provides students with the academic and technical preparation necessary to pursue high-skill, high-demand careers in these related and growing industries.  The sector encompasses three distinct, yet interrelated, career pathways:

  • Food Science Dietetics, and Nutrition
  • Food Service and Hospitality
  • Hospitality, Tourism, and Recreation

For more information on participating Ventura County Schools and School Districts, please click below for the specific pathways provided and contact information for each school site:

Conejo Valley Unified School District

Newbury Park High School

          • Food Service and Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Nicholas Colangelo •Ÿ ncolangelo@conejousd.org

Moorpark Unified School District

Community High School

    • Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation

Site Coordinator: Alan Penner •Ÿ apenner@mrpk.org


Campus Canyon School

  • Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Julian Gomez •Ÿ jgomez@mrpk.org


Chaparral Middle School

  • Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Betsy Davis •Ÿ bdavis@mrpk.org


Mesa Verde Middle School

  • Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Melissa LaBell •Ÿ mlabelle@mrpk.org

Oxnard Unified School District

Rio Mesa High School

  • Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation

Site Coordinator: Jim Rose •Ÿ jim.rose@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Rio School District

Rio Real

    • Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Maria Hernandez • mhernandez@rioschools.org

Simi Valley Unified School District

Apollo High School

    • Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation

Site Coordinator: Maria Sprowl Ÿ• maria.sprowl@simivalleyusd.org


 Royal High School

    • Food Service and Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Zorko Jezina Ÿ• zorko.jezina@simivalleyusd.org


Santa Susana High School

    • Food Service and Hospitality
    • Hospitality, Tourism & Recreation

Site Coordinator: Jennifer Wigdor •Ÿ jennifer.wigdor@simivalleyusd.org


Hillside Middle School

    • Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Mark Sheinberg • mark.sheinberg@simivalleyusd.org

Ventura Unified School District

Ventura High School

    • Food Service and Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Patricia Roberts Ÿ• patricia.roberts@venturausd.org


Ventura Adult and Continuing Education (VACE)

  • Food Service and Hospitality

Site Coordinator: Carolyn Vang-Walker •ŸŸ vang-walker@adultedventura.edu

Hospitality, Tourism, and Recreation Liaison