Transportation

Read more about the Transportation Model Curriculum Standards here.

Aviation Career Day

High schoolers get glimpse at local aviation careers – read more here.

UAS Drone over Ojai video pic

Our VCOE Career Education Center (CEC) ‪UAS‬ (Unmanned Aerial Systems) class recently took part in a local project with the Ventura Xome Labs staff, flying for the aerial survey of the Ojai Valley Land Conservancy preserve in Meiners Oaks, California. The Students flew the 3DR Iris+ Quadcopter with a GoPro for recording. The resulting images they captured could be used to put together elevation maps, for example.

Space X

Thanks to the VCOE Career Education Center, Aviation students from throughout Ventura County had a once in a lifetime opportunity to tour SpaceX in Hawthorne.

This sector is designed to provide a foundation in transportation services for all industrial technology education students in California.  There are eight focus areas that fall under the Transportation sector:

  • On-Road
  • Off-Road
  • Stationary
  • Rail
  • Water/Sea
  • Air
  • Space
  • Small Engines and Specialty Equipment

For more information on participating Ventura County Schools and School Districts, please click below for the specific pathways provided and contact information for each school site:

Fillmore Unified School District

Fillmore High School

  • Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Site Coordinators: Tom Ito  •ŸŸ tito@fillmoreusd.org and Lisa Cook •ŸŸ lcook@fillmoreusd.org

Oxnard Unified High School District

Oxnard High School

    • Operations

Site Coordinator: Jim Rose •Ÿ jim.rose@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Ojai Unified School District

Nordhoff High School

      • Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Site Coordinator: Kim Hoj •Ÿ khoj@ojaiusd.org

Simi Valley Unified School District

Simi Valley High School

    • Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Site Coordinator: John Baxter •Ÿ john.baxter@simivalleyusd.org

Ventura Unified School District

Buena High School

    • Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Site Coordinator: Natalie Debbas •Ÿ natalie.debbas@venturausd.org


Ventura High School

    • Systems Diagnostics, Service, and Repair

Site Coordinator: Patricia Roberts •Ÿ patricia.roberts@venturausd.org

Transportation Liaison

  • Rodrigo Cardenas

    Rodrigo Cardenas

    (805) 437-8047

    rcardenas@vcoe.org