Building and Construction

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 9.29.39 AM

Read more about the Building and Construction Model Curriculum Standards here.

Memes_ArchitectureBuildingConstruction

Buena HS Build & Const_ Habitat 4 Hum 2015

Students in the Building and Construction pathway at Buena High School volunteered for Habitat for Humanity, utilizing their skills to give back to the community.

Jwheir at Buena

Joshua Weir, Owner of J Weir, Masterworks, Inc., stopped in to his alma mater to speak at Buena High School’s Cabinet Millwork class about his path to the construction field, which included drafting and art classes he once took at Buena.

ACE at HD Supply

ACE Charter High School construction students participated in a fall protection class with industrial distributor HD Supply.

Montecito construction Josh Weir

General Contractor, Joshua Weir led the carpentry class at Buena High School on a tour of a private residence under construction in Montecito during the rough stage to learn what goes into building a home.

This sector provides a foundation in the Building and Construction Trades industry for students in California.  The sector encompasses four career pathways:

        • Cabinetry, Millwork, and Woodworking
        • Engineering and Heavy Construction
        • Mechanical Systems Installation and Repair
        • Residential and Commercial Construction

For more information on participating Ventura County Schools and School Districts, please click below for the specific pathways provided and contact information for each school site:

Conejo Valley Unified School District

Newbury Park High School

      • Cabinetry, Millwork, and Woodworking

Site Coordinator: Nicholas Colangelo •Ÿ ncolangelo@conejousd.org


Thousand Oaks High School

      • Cabinetry, Millwork, and Woodworking
      • Residential and Commercial Construction

Site Coordinator: Jane Carlson Ÿ• jcarlson@conejousd.org

Oak Park Unified School District

Oak Park High School

    • Residential and Commercial Construction

Site Coordinator: Erik Amerikaner Ÿ•Ÿ eamerikaner@oakparkusd.org

Oxnard Unified High School District

ACE Charter High School

    • Residential and Commercial Construction

Site Coordinator: Gina Van Ness Ÿ• gina.vanness@roavc.com

Simi Valley Unified School District

Apollo High School

    • Cabinetry, Millwork, and Woodworking

Site Coordinator: Maria Sprowl •Ÿ maria.sprowl@simivalleyusd.org


Royal High School

    • Cabinetry & Woodworking

Site Coordinator: Zorko Jezina •Ÿ zorko.jezina@simivalleyusd.org


Simi Valley High School

    • Cabinetry, Millwork, and Woodworking

Site Coordinator: John Baxter •Ÿ john.baxter@simivalleyusd.org


Sinaloa Middle School

    • Cabinetry & Woodworking

Site Coordinator: Shanda Weaver Ÿ• shanda.weaver@simivalleyusd.org


 Valley View Middle School

    • Cabinetry & Woodworking

Site Coordinator: ŸMichael Hall • michael.hall@simivalleyusd.org

Ventura Unified School District

Buena High School

    • Cabinetry, Millwork, and Woodworking

Site Coordinator: Patricia Roberts Ÿ•Ÿ patricia.roberts@venturausd.org

Building and Construction Liaison