Public Services

Read more about the Public Services Model Curriculum Standards here.

Criminal Justice Class pic 11.5.2015

Sergeant Cecil Valenti from the Ventura County Sheriff’s Academy in ‪‎Camarillo‬ informed VCOE Career Education Center’s Criminal Justice students about the realities of entering the academy in the Fall of 2015.

Turning Point Social Justice Class

Fillmore Council Member and Turning Point Foundation Housing Director Manuel Minjares spoke to Pacific High School’s Family and Human Services students at their Social Justice class.

Emergency REsponse CEC

Emergency First Responder class at VCOE’s Career Education Center visits VCAirUnit and Sr. Deputy Sheriff Ridge.

VC Star Citizen program Camarillo

The Camarillo Police Department partnered with VCOE to create a student citizen academy, providing ‪Ventura County‬ high school students an opportunity to learn about the operations and responsibilities of law enforcement. Read more here.

A public service is one that is provided by government to its citizens, either directly or through the financing of another entity to provide that services.  Public service professions offer many career opportunities, including the following career pathways:

  • Public Safety
  • Emergency Response
  • Legal Practices

For more information on participating Ventura County Schools and School Districts, please click below for the specific pathways provided and contact information for each school site:

Fillmore Unified School District

Fillmore Middle School

  • Public Safety

Site Coordinator: John Wilber •Ÿ jwilber@fillmoreusd.org

Ojai Unified School District

Nordhoff High School

  • Emergency Response

Site Coordinator: Kim Hoj •Ÿ khoj@ojaiusd.org

Santa Paula Unified School District

Santa Paula High School

      • Public Safety

Site Coordinator: Laurel Arnold •Ÿ larnold@santapaulaunified.org

Simi Valley Unified School District

Hillside Middle School

    • Public Service – Law Enforcement

Site Coordinator: Mark Sheinberg •Ÿ mark.sheinberg@simivalleyusd.org


Royal High School

    • Legal Practices
    • Public Safety (Homeland Security) JROTC
    • Public Service – Homeland Security
    • Public Service – Law Enforcement

Site Coordinator: Zorko Jezina •Ÿ zorko.jezina@simivalleyusd.org


Santa Susana High School

    • Legal Practices

Site Coordinator: Jennifer Wigdor •Ÿ jennifer.wigdor@simivalleyusd.org


 Simi Valley High School

    • Emergency Response

Site Coordinator: John Baxter Ÿ• john.baxter@simivalleyusd.org


Valley View Middle School

    • Emergency Response

Site Coordinator: Dr. Terri Leon •Ÿ terri.leon@simivalleyusd.org

Ventura Unified School District

Buena High School

    • Legal Practices

Site Coordinator: Natalie Debbas Ÿ•Ÿ natalie.debbas@venturausd.org

Public Services Liaison