Arts, Media, and Entertainment

Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 9.29.27 AM

Read more about the Arts, Media, and Entertainment Model Curriculum Standards here.

Santa Susana VCStar Arts Media

Over the holiday break, 27 ‪stagecraft‬ students and 3 digital photography students studying the Arts, Media and Entertainment sector served as interns for a film shoot located on the Santa Susana High School campus. Read more here, in the Ventura County Star.

CEC Dig Media 1

Career Education Center Digital Broadcasting class

Moorpark HS video games

First offered in September 2014, the Moorpark High School introductory game design class attracted 35 students, and this year an advanced-level game design class was added. Read more here.

CEC Dig Media

Career Education Center Digital Broadcasting class, with instructor Fundi Legohn

Students from Santa Susana High School visited the Sony Pictures Studios movie back lot and had the opportunity to operate the latest in 4K cameras developed by Sony Electronics for the professional market. This exclusive soundstage is used by Sony for industry professional training, and the SSHS students were given the very same presentation and chance to shoot on gear that is just being rolled out to the movie industry now.

Of all the career industries, the Arts, Media, and Entertainment sector requires perhaps the greatest cross-disciplinary interaction because the work in this sector has a propensity to be largely project-based, requiring both independent work and interdependent skills for career success.  Careers in the Arts, Media and Entertainment sector fall into four general pathways:

Design

  • Visual and Media Arts
  • Performing Arts
  • Production and Managerial Arts
  • Game Design and Integration

For more information on participating Ventura County Schools and School Districts, please click below for the specific pathways provided and contact information for each school site:

Conejo Valley Unified School District

Newbury Park High School

      • Design, Visual & Media Arts
      • Production and Managerial Arts

Site Coordinator: Nicholas Colangelo •Ÿ ncolangelo@conejousd.org

Fillmore Unified School District

Fillmore High School

    • Design, Visual, & Media Arts

Site Coordinators: Tom Ito  •ŸŸ tito@fillmoreusd.org and Lisa Cook •ŸŸ lcook@fillmoreusd.org

Oak Park Unified School District

Oak Park High School

    • Design, Visual & Media Arts
    • Production and Managerial Arts

Site Coordinator: Erik Amerikaner •ŸŸ eamerikaner@oakparkusd.org

Ojai Unified School District

Nordhoff High School

    • Design, Visual & Media Arts
    • Production and Managerial Arts
    • Performing Arts

Site Coordinator: Kim Hoj •Ÿ khoj@ojaiusd.org

Oxnard Unified High School District

Rancho Campana High School

      • Design, Visual & Media Arts

Site Coordinator: Jim Rose •Ÿ jim.rose@ouhsd.k12.ca.us

Santa Paula Unified School District

Santa Paula High School

      • Design, Visual & Media Arts

Site Coordinator: Laurel Arnold Ÿ• larnold@santapaulaunified.org

Simi Valley Unified School District

Apollo High School

      • Game Design and Integration

Site Coordinator: Maria Sprowl Ÿ• maria.sprowl@simivalleyusd.org


Hillside Middle School

      • Design, Visual, and Media Arts
      • Performing Arts
      • Production & Managerial Arts

Site Coordinator: Mark Sheinberg •Ÿ mark.sheinberg@simivalleyusd.org


Royal High School

      • Design, Visual, and Media Arts

Site Coordinator: Zorko Jezina Ÿ• zorko.jezina@simivalleyusd.org


Sinaloa Middle School

      • Design, Visual, and Media Arts

Site Coordinator: Shanda Weaver •Ÿ shanda.weaver@simivalleyusd.org


Santa Susana High School

      • Design, Visual, and Media Arts
      • Performing Arts
      • Production & Managerial Arts

Site Coordinator: Jennifer Wigdor •Ÿ jennifer.wigdor@simivalleyusd.org


Simi Valley Adult School

      • Production & Managerial Arts

Site Coordinator: Giselle Bice •Ÿ giselle.bice@simivalleyusd.org

Ventura Unified School District

Buena High School

      • Design, Visual, and Media Arts
      • Performing Arts

Site Coordinator: Natalie Debbas •ŸŸ natalie.debbas@venturausd.org


Ventura High School

      • Performing Arts

Site Coordinator: Patricia Roberts •ŸŸ patricia.roberts@venturausd.org


Ventura Adult and Continuing Education (VACE)

  • Design, Visual, and Media Arts

Site Coordinator: Carolyn Vang-Walker •ŸŸ vang-walker@adultedventura.edu

Arts, Media and Entertainment Liaison