Agriculture and Natural Resources

Read more about the Agriculture and Natural Resources Model Curriculum Standards here.

EE Ag Opterra. Strickland. Sayer

Entrée to Employment dinner at CSUCI in December 2016, featuring Energy, Environment and Utilities professionals: L-R: Anthony Lumino of OpTerra Energy Services, Fred Strickland of Corona Coastal Grower and Chris Sayer of Petty Ranch.

EE Ag. E Villegas and El Concilio

Entrée to Employment dinner at CSUCI in December 2016, featuring Agriculture & Natural Resources + Energy, Environment and Utilities professionals: L-R: Yvonne Gutierrez of El Concilio Family Services and Ernie Villegas of Villegas Public Affairs.

Horticulture Squad holiday

Students at Chaparral High School in Ojai decking the halls with their holiday wares. “I never miss school now that I have this class.”

Ag Job Fair

Local high school and community college students descended on the Ventura County Agriculture Museum in Santa Paula on March 3rd for the 2016 Agriculture Career Fair cohosted by VC Innovates. Representatives from industry including Limoniera, AgRx, Agromin and many others, as well as Cal Poly Pomona and UC Agriculture and Natural Resources Research and Extension Center.
In addition to meeting and networking with industry professionals, workshops on resume writing and interviewing tips were also popular with attendees.

Aquaponics

Students from the CEC Horticulture class visited Sustained Harvests Farms at the their Goleta operation. Sustained Harvests employ #aquaponicfarming, a method of agriculture that is sustainable and safe for the environment. Their organically certified system produces herbs and greens, such as basil, lettuce, and watercress, in two large greenhouses at their site. The students were able to see and learn about this cutting edge method of growing, and hear the founders describe the entire process and learn about how they started their business.

The Agriculture and Natural Resources sector is designed to provide a foundation in agriculture for all agriculture students in California.  The pathways emphasize real-world, occupationally relevant experiences of significant scope and depth in:

  • Agriculture Business
  • Agriculture Mechanics
  • Agriscience
  • Animal Science
  • Forestry and Natural Resources
  • Ornamental Horticulture
  • Plant and Soil Science

For more information on participating Ventura County Schools and School Districts, please click below for the specific pathways provided and contact information for each school site:

Fillmore Unified School District

Fillmore High School

  • Agriculture Science

Site Coordinators: Tom Ito •ŸŸ tito@fillmoreusd.org and Lisa Cook •ŸŸ lcook@fillmoreusd.org


Fillmore Middle School

  • Agriculture Science

Site Coordinator: John Wilber •Ÿ jwilber@fillmoreusd.org

Oak Park Unified High School

Oak Park High School

    • Plant & Soil Science

Site Coordinator: Erik Amerikaner •ŸŸ eamerikaner@oakparkusd.org


Medea Creek Middle School

  • Agriculture

Site Coordinator: Samantha Senkiw •ŸŸ ssenkiw@opusd.org

Oxnard Unified High School District

Adolfo Camarillo High School

    • Agricultural Business
    • Animal Science
    • Plant and Soil Science

Site Coordinator: TBD


Condor High School

    • Plant and Soil Science

Site Coordinator: TBD

Santa Paula Unified School District

Santa Paula High School

    • Agricultural Business

Site Coordinator: Laurel Arnold •Ÿ larnold@santapaulaunified.org

Simi Valley Unified School District

Monte Vista School

      • Plant & Social Science

Site Coordinator: TBD

Ventura Unified School District

Ventura High School

      • Plant and Soil Science
      • Agricultural Business

Site Coordinator: Patricia Roberts •Ÿ patricia.roberts@venturausd.org

Agriculture and Natural Resources Liaison

  • Michel Etchart
    Mike Etchart

    (805) 437-8049

    metchart@vcoe.org